British Hairdressing Awards


In 1984, the British Hairdressing Awards – presented by Hairdressers Journal International and sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional – were launched to recognise and reward hairdressers who were pushing the boundaries of hairdressing, creating and setting the trends for others to follow and excelling in this creative and competitive industry.


Each year hairdressers from all over the UK dedicate months of hard work preparing their entries with fifteen categories to choose from. There are nine regional categories covering all areas of the UK and six specialist categories that recognise the skills required in specific areas, including - Afro, Men’s, Newcomer, Artistic Team, Avant Garde Hairdresser of the Year, and the Schwarzkopf Professional British Colour Technician of the Year.

British Hairdressing Awards Winners
Best in Britain

The Best in Britain


Hairdressers from any salon in the UK can enter the awards and compete with the biggest names in the industry as the anonymous and independent judging process ensures complete fairness for all.


Unlike other awards, HJ's British Hairdressing Awards are based on photographic entries that demonstrate the creativity, skills and talents of the entrant.

All entries are judged by an impartial, distinguished, yet extensive panel of credible individuals and the results collated by an independent firm of auditors.

How to Enter

Rise to the Challenge of Competition


HJ's British Hairdressing Awards sponsored by Schwarzkopf Professional, is the biggest night of the hairdressing year and brings together the greatest names in the industry for one night only.


To find out more about HJ's British Hairdressing Awards or for details on how to enter, please visit:


HJ's British Hairdressing Awards

How to Enter